FOOTBALL: Hawks vs. Alto, 11-1-19

Hawks lost to Alto, 8-57

CROSS COUNTRY: Results from Miller Grove Meet, 9-12-19

Here are the official results from this week’s cross country meet in Miller Grove:

Varsity Girls 2 Mile – 12th place – 303 points (23 scoring teams / 182 runners)
Jordyn Warren – 14:29 – 34th place
Logan Jaco – 14:32 – 37th place
Laney Wilson – 15:10 – 68th place
Marissa Kennedy – 16:09 – 107th place
Heidi Wilcox – 16:52 – 124th place
Emma Williams – 18:50 – 162nd place
Varsity Boys 5K (185 runners)
Seth Crane – 21:34 – 96th place
JV Girls 2 Mile (123 runners)
Mary Catherine Kennedy – 18:58 – 78th place
Cheyenne Turnner – 19:37 – 89th place

BASKETBALL: Hawks All-District Selections, 3-6-19

Congratulations to the following young men on their selection to the All District Team.
The Hawks finished the season with a 9-3 district record and a 23-6 overall record.

1st Team All District
Tristian Garrett
Akim Richmond
Camron Taylor

2nd Team All District
Collin Barber
Zach Conde
Paeton Smith

Honorable Mention
Chris Jackson
Jayden Dacus

Academic All District
Zach Conde
Paeton Smith

TRACK: Boys Track Bring Home Metals From Dee Mackey Relays 3-1-19

JV boys placed 3rd

Kayden Upchurch- 3rd Place 200m, 5th Place long jump
Hayden Smith- 5th Place 400m
Jeremey Torres – 3rd place in 300m Hurdles, 1st Place in Discus
Bryce Burns- 5th place in discus
4×100 Relay- 3rd Place
4×200 Relay- 2nd Place
4×400 Relay- 4th Place
Varsity Results
Akim Richmond- 6th Place Long Jump
Isaac Holland 6th Place in 400m run

Model UN groups bring home awards

“Over the past couple of weeks, both Middle School and High School GT students have competed in the Region 7 Model UN competition with great results,” sponsor Julie Chappa said.

For middle school, Joy Broderick served as Committee Co-Chair.  For high school, Abby Williams served as Committee Co-Chair, Lynli Dacus served as Committee Chair, and Emalee Chappa served as Secretary General.  Abby and Emalee were also asked to serve as Parliamentarians for all of the middle school sessions – sharing their leadership skills with the leaders of the middle school session.

For Middle School competitions, each of the two delegations received an honorable mention award for their maps.
Côte d’Ivoire delegation:  Joy Broderick, Julian Frazier, Evan Prater, and Amelia Rogers
Russia delegation: Dallas Cadenhead, Colter Hazel, and Asa Stone
The high school group also sent two delegations.
Ethiopia delegation: Lynli Dacus, Logan Jaco, London Jaco, and Zach Willard. “This group worked hard and represented us well,” Mrs. Chappa said.
Côte d’Ivoire delegation:  Emalee Chappa, Morgan Jaco, Skyla Patterson, and Abby Williams.
Individual Awards:
Abby Williams – 2nd place World Health Organization committee speaker
Emalee Chappa – 1st place UN Industrial Development Organization speaker
Delegation Awards:
3rd Place Resolution Writing
2nd Place Map
1st Place Collage
1st Place Digital Documentary/Multimedia Presentation
“For the first time in several years, this delegation brought home the trophy for Best Overall Delegation,” Mrs. Chappa said.

BASKETBALL: Lady Hawks vs. New Diana, 12-4-18

Hawkins emerged victorious 54-25 against New Diana on Tuesday on the strength of Jaycee Cheshire, who scored 16 points. She also contributed five rebounds, six steals and one block.

Alyssa Eddington recorded a double-double for the Lady Hawks, scoring 14 points and pulling down 10 rebounds. Also chipping in for Hawkins were Christian Harris (8 points, 1 rebound, 3 steals), Logan Jaco (4 points, 4 rebounds), Harlie Conover (4 points, 1 rebound), Lynli Dacus (3 points, 6 rebounds, 1 steal), Aaliyah Davis (2 points, 1 rebound, 1 steal), and Carolyn Searer (2 points, 2 rebounds, 1 steal).

HAWKINS — Harlie Conover 4, Alyssa Eddington 14, Carolyn Searer 2, Logan Jaco 4, Lynli Dacus 5, Emily Moore 1, Jaycee Cheshire 16, Christian Harris 6, Aaliyah Davis 2



HS Model UN brings home several medals

Two teams of high school students competed in Model United Nations at Kilgore on Feb. 1 & 2. Here are the results:

China (Amymarie Wilcox, Hayley Salinas, Morgan Jaco, Logan Jaco)
Map – 3rd Place
Multimedia Digital Presentation – 1st
Resolution Writing – 2nd
Logan Jaco – 3rd in UNEP
Hayley Salinas – 2nd WHO
Hayley Salinas – 1st General Assembly Speaker
Best Overall Delegation – Honorable Mention
France (Brady Stone, Emalee Chappa, Abbey Williams, Meaghan Hammonds, Zach Willard, Brooklyn Stephens)
Map – 2nd
Collage – 2nd
Resolution Writing – 3rd
Abbey Williams – 3rd FAO
Emalee Chappa – 2nd UNEP
Brady Stone – 1st UNESCO

Blog at

Up ↑